Day 3 – So what’s the UK poverty line?

If you’d like to donate to the Trussell Trust, do so here! https://mydonate.bt.com/fundraisers/stephanieninamenggu1 

Sorry for the late post! Wednesday was relatively okay in terms of fending off food smells and temptations to snack on free food beyond my £1 budget (there’s an abundance of free food in my hall!). It may be partly because yesterday started off as a pretty stressful day so my mind was way too occupied to think of food. It may also have been because of my huge breakfast! That small bit of porridge oats really soak quite a bit of water

File_000
What a full bowl of oats 😀

Anyway, so I thought that I should research on what the UK poverty line is, because I was pretty sure that the UK can’t possibly have 13 million citizens living below £1 a day persistently or this country would look really different. This article gives a great insight : http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-32812601

Capture article.PNG

Just a few snippets from the article :

  • Individuals are recorded as living in poverty if they live in a household with disposable income below 60% of the national average, before housing costs. This measure is also used across the EU
  • 19.3 million experienced poverty for at least one year between 2010-2013. Out of these, 4.6 million were in persistent poverty – three out of the past four years
  • Pensioners and single parent households are the ones most likely to have experienced poverty

That cleared up a lot of questions for me.

It also gave me the sneaky thought that instead of living below £1 a day, I should live below 60% of the average food expenditure in the UK which I’m hoping is above £1. But I only have just a few days left!! So £1 a day shall remain.

To be honest, £1 a day isn’t even what we often hear as the extreme poverty line. It is, according to the World Bank, $1 a day (or if you really want to know, it’s $1.08 of the 1993 PPP exchange rate, as of 1993). Measurements always confuse and complicate things, and then there’s the matter of absolute or relative poverty – I don’t know enough to write about it. But I guess the core of all this is that even in a developed country, there exists those who have financial struggles that keep them from a life of security and dignity. Measurements are a first step to identifying who they are. The next question is, what do we do about them?

I have my thoughts about that question, you’ll have yours but I’ll leave us at that for now. One last thing – the infographic of the day! This again, is from Oxfam in collaboration with GOOD. It’s kinda dated but still points out very pertinent parts of world hunger. See the original webpage here. Click on the picture for an enlarged version 🙂

what's wrong with our food system

Tata!

x, steph

Leave a Reply

